Skip to content



Jean Desgagne, BCom
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Canadian Depository for Securities Limited (CDS) - Toronto, ON, Canada

Jean Desgagne

Jean Desgagné is the President and Chief Executive Officer of The Canadian Depository for Securities Limited (CDS). Jean is a seasoned Executive and Leader with experience in all aspects of Operations, Finance, Technology, and Risk Management supporting Capital Markets activities with large multinational financial institutions.  He is particularly focused on leading change, building, fixing and growing businesses and organizations.

Jean has previously held executive positions in Operations, Technology and Risk Management at TD and a number of other global financial institutions.  He is a Chartered Accountant and a graduate of the Telfer School of Management at the University of Ottawa. Jean was actively involved in mentoring new associates at TD and is a judge at Finance competitions at several schools of management, including the Telfer School of Management.  He currently serves on the Board of the Jean Tweed Centre and has been active in a number of other community organizations including the Adoption Council of Ontario.  He is a member of the President’s Advisory Council for the University of Ottawa and was awarded the Queen’s Jubilee Medal in 2002 in recognition of his community service.

Jean was also awarded a Trudeau Medal in 2009 by the Telfer School of Management. Established in honour of Reverend Father Roland Trudeau, former director of the University's Commerce department from 1950 to 1965, the Trudeau Medal is the highest honour given by the Telfer School of Management to its alumni. It recognizes leadership, initiative and contributions to the business world, the community and their alma mater. 

Leader Grid

Lee Fraser
Hugh Faloon
Jonathan Simon
Daniel Levac
Alexander Leslie
David Mosley
Khusro Malik
Greg Matthews
Luc Cardinal
Jamil Bhuya
Bryan Belanger
Racha Farah
Michel Houle
Jay Wong
Mona Fortier
Vani Edwardson
Angela Vanikiotis
Stacey Metulynsky
Russ Morgan
Anil Dilawri
Michael Runia
Christine Kincaid
Sarah Newell
Alexandre Lefebvre
Charla O'Connor
Jean-Claude Bergeron
Herbert Strongeagle
Denis Kingsley
Paul S. Crampton
Phil White
Kevin Smiley
Sebastien Dignard
Jean Desgagne
Drew Huffman
Chris Rotolo
Tim Ragan
Geoff Lebano
Patrick Brizay
Mark Farrell
Michael Chambers
Dinesh Kandanchatha
Paul Knudsen
Pedro Carrasco
Art Slaughter
Tyler Steeves
Andre Bolduc
John Hastings
Michelle Pickett
Luc Fortin
Mary-Ann Massad
Sean Murphy
Dr. Steve Pelletier
Gabriel Di Primio
Okenge Yuma Morisho
Christian Dion
Russ McLeod
Kathleen Kemp
Peter Hollett
Nadia Scornaienchi
Christopher Wilson
Déric G. Dubien
Richard Zhang
Michel Cadieux
Paul Pinkus
Dany Gagnon
Dennise Albrecht
Lydia Di Francesco
Patricia McCarron
George Gritziotis
Amy Karam, IMBA
Chris Finlay
Maxime Lazard
Tom Philpott
Yves Bastien
Ian Sinclair
Fares El Sabbagh
Candace Tierney
Brennan Loh
Matthew Spoke
Jean Marc Leclerc
Satheesh Gopalan
James Yersh
Sherry Noble
Ian Telfer
Serge Casault
Vik Chaudhary
Sean Moher
Roger Farley
Ricky Chau
Geneviève Bonin
Michael McFaul
Majella Morin
Frederic Michel
Jennifer Garrett
Dan Hilton
Wanda MacDonald
Christian Coulombe
Hatem Soltani
Rekha Krishnamurthi
Kyle Braatz
David Sharpley
Stéphane Ouellet
Anie Rouleau
Paul Vallée
Jennifer Butson
Anne-Marie Hubert
Linda Eagen
Carol T Culhane
Charles Chamberlain
Alain Villemure
Jean L. Laporte
Nick Quain
Jason Kerr
Christa Casey
Louise Tardif
John Duncan
Sean Murphy
Jason Yeung
Justine Hendricks
Jean-Pierre Soublière
Éric Charette
Emily Jones
Stéphane Bisson
Chaohui Peng
Dan Moorcroft
Robert Hyams
Rob Hyams
Michel Lavigne
Wooi Seong Cheam
Simon Nasr
Chetan Baweja
Marc Malouin
Cathy Lewis
Dinakar Vaidya
Greg Tarasco
François Julien
Joanne Lefebvre
Mimi Lowi-Young
Mike Carson
Jean F. Laurin
Chantal Backman
Marcela Szucko
Christopher Sisto
Dobrila Rancic-Moogk
Mike Groves
Dan Hawes
Martin Lalonde
Bilge Balci
Jon Bartlett
Vincent Douville
Cory Young
Guy Laflamme
Steven Drover
Bernie Ashe
Sarah Asad
Michael Burch
Chantal Courchesne
Billy Triantafilos
John-Paul Cody-Cox
Marc Dupuis-Désormeaux
Robert D'Aoust
Greg Fougère
John Kurvink
Kim Ades
Pamela Baxter
Ronnie Gavsie
Harley Finkelstein
Candace Enman
Dwight Mihalicz
Robert White
Jonathan Martin
Francoys Bourgon
Benoit Bazoge
Greg Cayen
Christophe Richon
Andrew Zadarnowski
Gabriela Golumbovici
Saurabh R.  Popat
Alain Doucet
Alain-Michel Sékula
Huw Williams
Peter Leuzinger
Robert Boutin
Angsuman Rudra
Richard Bazinet
Janet LeBlanc
Sarwar Qureshi

Alumni Leaders: Get on the map!

Add your profile to this site

Telfer School Programs

The Bachelor of Commerce (BCom) provides students a complete business education: academic excellence, a rewarding student life, and distinctive personal and career development opportunities.

Stats: 17478 Alumni

Program site

The Telfer MBA gives students the power to outperform: lead people, take charge of organizations, allocate resources effectively and articulate a strategic vision—all fundamental skills of high-performing business leaders.

Stats: 4860 Alumni

Program site

Our Executive MBA Program provides a uniquely stimulating and rigorous professional development experience that will enhance your general management capabilities. The program opens up global, practical and relevant business experiences for ambitious professionals—experiences these students use to explore international business, experience management through hands-on consulting projects and gain the leadership skills necessary for success in today’s global economy.

Stats: 1017 Alumni

Program site

Our Master of Health Administration (MHA) provides students with the expert knowledge, practical skills and hands-on training they need to translate their passion for health into genuine results for Canadians.

Stats: 961 Alumni

Program site

Our Master of Science in Management (MSc) equips students with the knowledge and skills to examine management challenges from a variety of viewpoints, conduct informed research, and uncover findings that can be used by managers to solve pressing problems.

Program site

Our Master of Science in Health Systems (MSc) prepares students to help healthcare practitioners and managers achieve the most vital outcomes of modern healthcare: lower costs, better patient outcomes and improved healthcare services. This program trains them to “think differently” and become an agent of change.

Program site

The Telfer PhD in Management is unique and focused, designed to create the depth and breadth that makes an impact in business – and the world. Our unique approach surrounds our students with unusual and exceptional opportunities for learning and development – just one of the many reasons we are so proud of our PhD in Management program.

Program site