Skip to content



Luc Fortin, BCom
President and Chief Executive Officer, Montréal Exchange - Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Luc Fortin

Though he had received offers to study at other universities, Luc had his sights set on the University of Ottawa. After a semester studying Science, he quickly realized that the program wasn’t for him. Shortly thereafter, he enrolled in the faculty of administration, what we know today as the Telfer School of Management, with a major in Finance and a double minor in Marketing and International Commerce.

Luc was an active student. He became president of the Finance Club in his second year of study, and he helped organize many initiatives like visits to the New York Stock Exchange and la Bourse de Montréal. He also helped organize conferences and even had the Minister of Finance at the time attend his event. “I believe it’s important for students to start building their professional networks from the day they start their program. They should network when they can and get involved when the opportunities arise”, says Luc.

Luc had planned to work in New York after graduation but fate would have it that he ended up getting hired as a Customer Service Representative at TD and thus kick-starting his finance career. In May 2016, with over 25 years of capital markets experience, Luc was named Managing Director, Derivatives Trading for Montréal Exchange (MX). One month after taking on the Managing Director role, Luc was appointed President and CEO of the Montreal Exchange and now sits on the EXCO of the TMX group and oversees MX, Shorcan and NGX businesses.

Luc is a proud alumnus and has stayed connected to his alma mater throughout the years by sitting on the Dean’s Advisory Board and mentoring students, among other things. “What good is learning if we don’t share it with others”, exclaims Luc.

Leader Grid

Chetan Baweja
Rob Hyams
Paul Pinkus
Charles Chamberlain
Cathy Lewis
Anie Rouleau
Christine Kincaid
Russ McLeod
Kathleen Kemp
Marc Malouin
Christian Coulombe
Chris Rotolo
Nadia Scornaienchi
Candace Enman
Robert D'Aoust
Paul S. Crampton
Lee Fraser
Harley Finkelstein
Bryan Belanger
Amy Karam, IMBA
George Gritziotis
Art Slaughter
John Kurvink
Sebastien Dignard
Linda Eagen
Anne-Marie Hubert
Michelle Pickett
Robert Boutin
Mary-Ann Massad
Jean-Claude Bergeron
Rekha Krishnamurthi
Roger Farley
Matthew Spoke
Drew Huffman
Cory Young
Herbert Strongeagle
Christopher Wilson
Alain Villemure
Louise Tardif
Bilge Balci
Greg Fougère
Andrew Zadarnowski
Majella Morin
Bernie Ashe
Ian Telfer
Charla O'Connor
Jason Kerr
Anil Dilawri
Chris Finlay
Dan Moorcroft
Chantal Backman
Fares El Sabbagh
Christopher Sisto
Dinakar Vaidya
Jonathan Martin
Gabriel Di Primio
Yves Bastien
Khusro Malik
Vani Edwardson
Joanne Lefebvre
Michael Burch
Jennifer Butson
Jean Marc Leclerc
Racha Farah
Dan Hilton
Sarah Newell
Ricky Chau
Christa Casey
Richard Zhang
Russ Morgan
Hatem Soltani
Jean F. Laurin
Michel Houle
Steven Drover
Andre Bolduc
David Sharpley
Jean-Pierre Soublière
Kyle Braatz
Jennifer Garrett
Pamela Baxter
Dan Hawes
Huw Williams
Dinesh Kandanchatha
Wanda MacDonald
Simon Nasr
Patrick Brizay
Sean Murphy
Greg Cayen
Sarwar Qureshi
Vik Chaudhary
John Hastings
Sarah Asad
Richard Bazinet
Michael McFaul
Paul Vallée
Satheesh Gopalan
Mimi Lowi-Young
Martin Lalonde
Jean Desgagne
John Duncan
Ronnie Gavsie
Kim Ades
Jay Wong
Mike Groves
Peter Leuzinger
Brennan Loh
Janet LeBlanc
Billy Triantafilos
Gabriela Golumbovici
Greg Matthews
Alain-Michel Sékula
Alain Doucet
Alexandre Lefebvre
Sean Moher
Pedro Carrasco
Daniel Levac
James Yersh
Chantal Courchesne
Alexander Leslie
Dr. Steve Pelletier
Greg Tarasco
Luc Fortin
Geoff Lebano
Mark Farrell
Robert White
Déric G. Dubien
Michel Cadieux
Jamil Bhuya
Michael Runia
Dany Gagnon
Serge Casault
Christophe Richon
John-Paul Cody-Cox
Mike Carson
Michael Chambers
Denis Kingsley
Jean L. Laporte
Stacey Metulynsky
Sherry Noble
Angela Vanikiotis
François Julien
Paul Knudsen
Robert Hyams
Tim Ragan
Chaohui Peng
Dwight Mihalicz
Jonathan Simon
Sean Murphy
Guy Laflamme
Hugh Faloon
Okenge Yuma Morisho
Jason Yeung
Vincent Douville
Kevin Smiley
Angsuman Rudra
Tyler Steeves
Phil White
Michel Lavigne
Luc Cardinal
Éric Charette
Francoys Bourgon
Dennise Albrecht
Marcela Szucko
Geneviève Bonin
Emily Jones
Saurabh R.  Popat
Peter Hollett
Candace Tierney
Justine Hendricks
David Mosley
Christian Dion
Patricia McCarron
Lydia Di Francesco
Stéphane Ouellet
Tom Philpott
Maxime Lazard
Marc Dupuis-Désormeaux
Ian Sinclair
Jon Bartlett
Mona Fortier
Carol T Culhane
Dobrila Rancic-Moogk
Frederic Michel
Stéphane Bisson
Wooi Seong Cheam
Benoit Bazoge
Nick Quain

Alumni Leaders: Get on the map!

Add your profile to this site

Telfer School Programs

The Bachelor of Commerce (BCom) provides students a complete business education: academic excellence, a rewarding student life, and distinctive personal and career development opportunities.

Stats: 17478 Alumni

Program site

The Telfer MBA gives students the power to outperform: lead people, take charge of organizations, allocate resources effectively and articulate a strategic vision—all fundamental skills of high-performing business leaders.

Stats: 4860 Alumni

Program site

Our Executive MBA Program provides a uniquely stimulating and rigorous professional development experience that will enhance your general management capabilities. The program opens up global, practical and relevant business experiences for ambitious professionals—experiences these students use to explore international business, experience management through hands-on consulting projects and gain the leadership skills necessary for success in today’s global economy.

Stats: 1017 Alumni

Program site

Our Master of Health Administration (MHA) provides students with the expert knowledge, practical skills and hands-on training they need to translate their passion for health into genuine results for Canadians.

Stats: 961 Alumni

Program site

Our Master of Science in Management (MSc) equips students with the knowledge and skills to examine management challenges from a variety of viewpoints, conduct informed research, and uncover findings that can be used by managers to solve pressing problems.

Program site

Our Master of Science in Health Systems (MSc) prepares students to help healthcare practitioners and managers achieve the most vital outcomes of modern healthcare: lower costs, better patient outcomes and improved healthcare services. This program trains them to “think differently” and become an agent of change.

Program site

The Telfer PhD in Management is unique and focused, designed to create the depth and breadth that makes an impact in business – and the world. Our unique approach surrounds our students with unusual and exceptional opportunities for learning and development – just one of the many reasons we are so proud of our PhD in Management program.

Program site