Skip to content


Michael Chambers, BCom
Senior Partner, Maclaren Corlett - Ottawa, ON, Canada

Michael Chambers

uOttawa alumnus Michael Chambers (BCom 1970; LLB 1973) is a senior partner with the Ottawa law firm Maclaren Corlett LLP and is Immediate Past President of the Canadian Olympic Committee having served as President of Canada’s Olympic Committee from 2001 to 2010. During his Presidency, Own the Podium was established which in great part led to Canada’s win of 14 Gold Medals at the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, something no other country has ever equaled.

Mr. Chambers’ holds and has held many senior sport positions in Canada and internationally. A canoe/kayak athlete himself, he was President or Commodore as it is called, of Canoe/Kayak Canada from 1986 to 1989. He was a member of the Board of the Canadian Olympic Committee from 1984 to his election to the Presidency in 2001. He served as Chef de Mission of the Canadian Olympic Team at the 1996 Atlanta Centennial Olympic Games.

Mr. Chambers currently sits on the Executive Committee of the Pan American Sports Organization and is the only Canadian to ever have been elected as a Vice President of that organization; he is the first and so far only Canadian ever to sit on the Executive Council of the 204 country member Association of National Olympic Committees; he has been a member of various IOC Working Groups, and currently is a member of the IOC Working Group in the Fight Against Irregular and Illegal Betting in Sport. He was a speaker and panelist on the topic “Structure of the Olympic Movement: Good Governance and Ethics” at the 2009 IOC Olympic Congress in Copenhagen.

Mr. Chambers was Vice Chair of Vancouver’s successful Bid to host the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, and then served on the VANOC Board from its inception through the 2010 Games, chairing its Governance & Ethics committee. Recently, he played a key role in the Toronto Bid to secure the 2015 Pan and Para Pan American Games, and now serves on the Board of the TO2015 Organizing Committee, chairing its Governance & Ethics Committee as well.

In 2008, he was inducted as a member of the University’s Common Law Honour Society; in 2010, he was awarded the Gordon F. Henderson Award by the County of Carleton Law Association; in 2013, he was inducted into the City of Ottawa Sports Hall of Fame, and was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by his alma mater, the University of Ottawa.

A recipient of both the IOC Olympic Order and the Olympic Order of Canada, in 2012, he was inducted into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame. At the induction ceremony, he recalled an early learned lesson in sport that he brings to all aspects of his life: “to win without your integrity intact is no win at all”.

Leader Grid

Angsuman Rudra
Amy Karam, IMBA
Emily Jones
Guy Laflamme
Éric Charette
Dr. Steve Pelletier
Joanne Lefebvre
Luc Fortin
Michael McFaul
Jon Bartlett
David Mosley
George Gritziotis
Denis Kingsley
John Hastings
Mary-Ann Massad
Janet LeBlanc
Hugh Faloon
Geoff Lebano
Drew Huffman
Maxime Lazard
John-Paul Cody-Cox
Vani Edwardson
Anil Dilawri
Greg Cayen
Dan Moorcroft
Vincent Douville
Bilge Balci
John Kurvink
Racha Farah
Sean Murphy
Kim Ades
Lydia Di Francesco
Michel Lavigne
Sarah Newell
Peter Leuzinger
Jonathan Simon
Candace Enman
Sarah Asad
Dan Hilton
Charles Chamberlain
Justine Hendricks
Nick Quain
Jamil Bhuya
Christophe Richon
Stacey Metulynsky
Alexander Leslie
Robert D'Aoust
Michael Burch
Okenge Yuma Morisho
Marc Dupuis-Désormeaux
Tom Philpott
Sean Moher
Carol T Culhane
Daniel Levac
John Duncan
Frederic Michel
Christopher Wilson
Jennifer Butson
Dobrila Rancic-Moogk
Michel Houle
Michel Cadieux
Serge Casault
Chetan Baweja
Jean Desgagne
Jason Kerr
Jean-Pierre Soublière
Richard Bazinet
Jean L. Laporte
Marcela Szucko
Andrew Zadarnowski
Déric G. Dubien
Alain Doucet
Jean-Claude Bergeron
Stéphane Bisson
Christine Kincaid
Tim Ragan
Khusro Malik
Dinakar Vaidya
Michael Chambers
Christian Coulombe
François Julien
Hatem Soltani
Russ McLeod
Cory Young
Sean Murphy
Mona Fortier
Louise Tardif
Benoit Bazoge
Cathy Lewis
Sebastien Dignard
Ricky Chau
Andre Bolduc
Wanda MacDonald
Christian Dion
Robert Boutin
Pedro Carrasco
Steven Drover
Ian Telfer
Michelle Pickett
Greg Tarasco
Bryan Belanger
Simon Nasr
Kathleen Kemp
Yves Bastien
Stéphane Ouellet
Greg Matthews
Chantal Backman
Kyle Braatz
Dany Gagnon
Alain Villemure
Dennise Albrecht
Sarwar Qureshi
Peter Hollett
Anne-Marie Hubert
Art Slaughter
Richard Zhang
Brennan Loh
Candace Tierney
Roger Farley
David Sharpley
James Yersh
Chaohui Peng
Dinesh Kandanchatha
Rob Hyams
Chantal Courchesne
Martin Lalonde
Francoys Bourgon
Gabriela Golumbovici
Kevin Smiley
Fares El Sabbagh
Jay Wong
Jean Marc Leclerc
Nadia Scornaienchi
Dan Hawes
Patricia McCarron
Russ Morgan
Majella Morin
Jean F. Laurin
Robert Hyams
Jason Yeung
Saurabh R.  Popat
Robert White
Pamela Baxter
Rekha Krishnamurthi
Michael Runia
Alain-Michel Sékula
Mimi Lowi-Young
Wooi Seong Cheam
Ronnie Gavsie
Ian Sinclair
Angela Vanikiotis
Jonathan Martin
Billy Triantafilos
Gabriel Di Primio
Harley Finkelstein
Mark Farrell
Mike Carson
Paul Pinkus
Patrick Brizay
Greg Fougère
Mike Groves
Alexandre Lefebvre
Phil White
Vik Chaudhary
Tyler Steeves
Dwight Mihalicz
Anie Rouleau
Chris Rotolo
Christopher Sisto
Marc Malouin
Luc Cardinal
Sherry Noble
Linda Eagen
Geneviève Bonin
Satheesh Gopalan
Matthew Spoke
Paul Vallée
Huw Williams
Charla O'Connor
Paul S. Crampton
Chris Finlay
Lee Fraser
Paul Knudsen
Christa Casey
Herbert Strongeagle
Bernie Ashe
Jennifer Garrett

Alumni Leaders: Get on the map!

Add your profile to this site

Telfer School Programs

The Bachelor of Commerce (BCom) provides students a complete business education: academic excellence, a rewarding student life, and distinctive personal and career development opportunities.

Stats: 17478 Alumni

Program site

The Telfer MBA gives students the power to outperform: lead people, take charge of organizations, allocate resources effectively and articulate a strategic vision—all fundamental skills of high-performing business leaders.

Stats: 4860 Alumni

Program site

Our Executive MBA Program provides a uniquely stimulating and rigorous professional development experience that will enhance your general management capabilities. The program opens up global, practical and relevant business experiences for ambitious professionals—experiences these students use to explore international business, experience management through hands-on consulting projects and gain the leadership skills necessary for success in today’s global economy.

Stats: 1017 Alumni

Program site

Our Master of Health Administration (MHA) provides students with the expert knowledge, practical skills and hands-on training they need to translate their passion for health into genuine results for Canadians.

Stats: 961 Alumni

Program site

Our Master of Science in Management (MSc) equips students with the knowledge and skills to examine management challenges from a variety of viewpoints, conduct informed research, and uncover findings that can be used by managers to solve pressing problems.

Program site

Our Master of Science in Health Systems (MSc) prepares students to help healthcare practitioners and managers achieve the most vital outcomes of modern healthcare: lower costs, better patient outcomes and improved healthcare services. This program trains them to “think differently” and become an agent of change.

Program site

The Telfer PhD in Management is unique and focused, designed to create the depth and breadth that makes an impact in business – and the world. Our unique approach surrounds our students with unusual and exceptional opportunities for learning and development – just one of the many reasons we are so proud of our PhD in Management program.

Program site