Skip to content


Ian Telfer, MBA
Chairman, Goldcorp Inc. - Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Ian Telfer

Ian Telfer graduated from The University of Ottawa with an MBA in 1976. He has been a senior executive in the mining industry for the past 25 years during which time he has financed, developed and operated mines in 12 countries throughout North and South America, Asia and Australia.

On May 8, 2007, Ian Telfer launched an exciting new chapter in management education at his alma mater with an unprecedented $25 million donation. In honour of his contribution, the University of Ottawa School of Management has been renamed the Telfer School of Management.

Mr. Telfer's successful track record has been recognized over the years with a special achievement award from the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada, by being selected as Western Canada's Entrepreneur of the year and as a finalist for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year award, being presented with the Murray Pezim award for financing exploration by the BC & Yukon Chamber of Mines, the 2006 award for ‘Corporate Development’ by Cambridge House International, and being chosen ‘Newsmaker of the year’ by Business in Vancouver. Mr. Telfer and his spouse, Ms. Nancy Burke, received an award for "Innovation In Green Energy" at the United Nations in October 2015. The award was accepted by Telfer, Burke and the Mayor of the town of Nguekokh, Senegal where the projects are occurring. Mr. Telfer is also a Director of the Special Olympics Canada Foundation.

Mr. Telfer is a member of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants and holds a BA from the University of Toronto. He is currently Chairman of Goldcorp Inc., one of the world’s largest gold mining companies, which is based in Vancouver. In 2015, he was inducted into the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame.

Leader Grid

Mimi Lowi-Young
Michael Burch
Andre Bolduc
Pamela Baxter
Francoys Bourgon
John-Paul Cody-Cox
Brennan Loh
Chantal Courchesne
Sean Murphy
Jean Marc Leclerc
Andrew Zadarnowski
Anil Dilawri
Mary-Ann Massad
Frederic Michel
Saurabh R.  Popat
Ian Sinclair
Geoff Lebano
Alain-Michel Sékula
Satheesh Gopalan
Jean Desgagne
Sarah Asad
Jean-Claude Bergeron
Drew Huffman
Gabriela Golumbovici
Sherry Noble
Sebastien Dignard
Paul S. Crampton
Alexandre Lefebvre
Bryan Belanger
Peter Leuzinger
Lee Fraser
Lydia Di Francesco
Greg Matthews
Kim Ades
Charla O'Connor
François Julien
Wanda MacDonald
Simon Nasr
Tim Ragan
Patricia McCarron
Amy Karam, IMBA
Jay Wong
Janet LeBlanc
Russ Morgan
Jean L. Laporte
Candace Enman
Patrick Brizay
Michael McFaul
Tom Philpott
Racha Farah
Kyle Braatz
Jonathan Martin
Mark Farrell
Dan Hilton
Marcela Szucko
George Gritziotis
Paul Pinkus
Billy Triantafilos
Luc Fortin
Serge Casault
Richard Bazinet
Russ McLeod
Dan Moorcroft
Christopher Sisto
Jon Bartlett
Wooi Seong Cheam
Chantal Backman
Alain Doucet
Carol T Culhane
Sarwar Qureshi
Alain Villemure
Denis Kingsley
Robert D'Aoust
Hugh Faloon
Candace Tierney
Tyler Steeves
Dan Hawes
John Duncan
Ian Telfer
Christa Casey
Rekha Krishnamurthi
Jennifer Garrett
Vani Edwardson
Michelle Pickett
John Kurvink
Chetan Baweja
Sarah Newell
Maxime Lazard
Jennifer Butson
Greg Cayen
Greg Tarasco
Robert Boutin
Okenge Yuma Morisho
Herbert Strongeagle
Marc Dupuis-Désormeaux
Greg Fougère
Yves Bastien
Cathy Lewis
Art Slaughter
Richard Zhang
Christophe Richon
Michel Houle
James Yersh
Matthew Spoke
Joanne Lefebvre
Marc Malouin
Harley Finkelstein
Chris Rotolo
Robert White
Dobrila Rancic-Moogk
Jason Yeung
Fares El Sabbagh
Hatem Soltani
Peter Hollett
Ricky Chau
Gabriel Di Primio
Christian Dion
Dany Gagnon
Chris Finlay
Michel Cadieux
Éric Charette
Angsuman Rudra
Sean Murphy
Phil White
Mike Carson
Stéphane Bisson
Luc Cardinal
David Sharpley
Jean-Pierre Soublière
Dinakar Vaidya
Benoit Bazoge
Bernie Ashe
Pedro Carrasco
Sean Moher
Christian Coulombe
Dinesh Kandanchatha
Chaohui Peng
Vik Chaudhary
Charles Chamberlain
Christine Kincaid
Michael Chambers
Paul Vallée
Angela Vanikiotis
David Mosley
Cory Young
Paul Knudsen
Jamil Bhuya
Anie Rouleau
Anne-Marie Hubert
Ronnie Gavsie
John Hastings
Déric G. Dubien
Guy Laflamme
Jason Kerr
Justine Hendricks
Stéphane Ouellet
Geneviève Bonin
Kathleen Kemp
Christopher Wilson
Martin Lalonde
Nadia Scornaienchi
Jean F. Laurin
Emily Jones
Robert Hyams
Roger Farley
Stacey Metulynsky
Mona Fortier
Mike Groves
Nick Quain
Michael Runia
Louise Tardif
Majella Morin
Huw Williams
Dwight Mihalicz
Kevin Smiley
Bilge Balci
Linda Eagen
Khusro Malik
Rob Hyams
Dennise Albrecht
Vincent Douville
Jonathan Simon
Michel Lavigne
Steven Drover
Alexander Leslie
Dr. Steve Pelletier
Daniel Levac

Alumni Leaders: Get on the map!

Add your profile to this site

Telfer School Programs

The Bachelor of Commerce (BCom) provides students a complete business education: academic excellence, a rewarding student life, and distinctive personal and career development opportunities.

Stats: 17478 Alumni

Program site

The Telfer MBA gives students the power to outperform: lead people, take charge of organizations, allocate resources effectively and articulate a strategic vision—all fundamental skills of high-performing business leaders.

Stats: 4860 Alumni

Program site

Our Executive MBA Program provides a uniquely stimulating and rigorous professional development experience that will enhance your general management capabilities. The program opens up global, practical and relevant business experiences for ambitious professionals—experiences these students use to explore international business, experience management through hands-on consulting projects and gain the leadership skills necessary for success in today’s global economy.

Stats: 1017 Alumni

Program site

Our Master of Health Administration (MHA) provides students with the expert knowledge, practical skills and hands-on training they need to translate their passion for health into genuine results for Canadians.

Stats: 961 Alumni

Program site

Our Master of Science in Management (MSc) equips students with the knowledge and skills to examine management challenges from a variety of viewpoints, conduct informed research, and uncover findings that can be used by managers to solve pressing problems.

Program site

Our Master of Science in Health Systems (MSc) prepares students to help healthcare practitioners and managers achieve the most vital outcomes of modern healthcare: lower costs, better patient outcomes and improved healthcare services. This program trains them to “think differently” and become an agent of change.

Program site

The Telfer PhD in Management is unique and focused, designed to create the depth and breadth that makes an impact in business – and the world. Our unique approach surrounds our students with unusual and exceptional opportunities for learning and development – just one of the many reasons we are so proud of our PhD in Management program.

Program site